Official introduction

Message from the Director

Dare to look beyond the horizon

I am very proud to present to you, in its innovative and fully digital format, the CRCHUM’s 2015–2016 activity report. The CRCHUM promotes, facilitates and supports the University of Montreal Hospital Centre’s (CHUM) research mission through a vision that is integrated with the hospital’s other mission components, which are health care, teaching and the evaluation of technologies. This synergy will be further strengthened by the imminent opening of the new CHUM.

The knowledge generated by our teams serves our patients and the people of Quebec. The research questions that our researchers ask are directly inspired by the challenges faced by our clinical practitioners or by public health issues. The solutions they provide return directly to the patients’ point-of-care and inform political decisions that have an impact on health.

As you peruse this activity report, you will see that our research teams have distinguished themselves on the international scene once again this year through their discoveries, which include identifying new mechanisms underlying Alzheimer’s disease or the rejection of transplanted organs, demonstrating that storing blood does not affect its quality and developing new treatments for multiple sclerosis and prostate cancer, to name only a few.  

Everyone who works at the CRCHUM, whether they are researchers, students or research and support staff members, is inspired every day to seek new knowledge and innovative solutions, always daring to go further. For the sake of our patients and together with them, we will pursue this mission with energy and determination.

Vincent Poitout
Director of the CRCHUM

Messages from the CEO

The CHUM Research Centre’s (CRCHUM) activity report highlights the key accomplishments and scientific breakthroughs made by its research teams, a constant source of creativity. All our teams work tirelessly for a common objective, that of developing innovative solutions to improve the health of the people of Quebec.  

This outstanding site, where the results of research activities have a positive impact on patients, promotes a comprehensive approach integrating the entire research spectrum, from basic research to the laboratory, from population health research to clinical research.

This research spectrum and the resulting cross-fertilization between the different sectors make it possible to transform scientific knowledge into tangible benefits for patients and the general public.

Once again, for 2015–2016, our research centre has set itself apart through spectacular and innovative scientific breakthroughs that improve medical practices and contribute to the development of new treatments. These discoveries pave the way for new therapeutic approaches to treating type 2 diabetes, prostate cancer and many other diseases.

At the University of Montreal Hospital Centre, patients not only benefit from these positive impacts—they also contribute to them! In fact, their participation in research programs or clinical studies is crucial to the ultimate improvement of the treatment they receive. The use of Truvada to prevent HIV infection in high-risk individuals is a good example.

A review of all the CRCHUM’s accomplishments will demonstrate how important the centre’s role is in the improvement of patient health care and how influential its discoveries have been throughout the world. On behalf of the people that we serve, I would like to thank all the teams of the CHUM’s research centre who contribute to improving the health of Quebecers now and in the future.

Fabrice Brunet
Chief Executive Officer

Mots de la direction

Mot du directeur

L’audace de chercher plus loin

C’est avec une très grande fierté que je vous présente, sous une forme innovante et totalement électronique, le rapport d’activités du CRCHUM 2015-2016. Le CRCHUM porte, anime, et soutient la mission de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM), dans une vision intégrée avec les autres éléments de mission de l’hôpital que sont les soins, l’enseignement et l’évaluation des technologies. Cette synergie sera encore renforcée par l’ouverture prochaine du nouveau CHUM.

La connaissance générée par nos équipes est au service de nos patients et de la population québécoise. Les questions de recherche que posent nos chercheurs sont directement inspirées d’enjeux auxquels font face nos cliniciens ou de problématiques de santé publique. Les réponses qu’ils y apportent retournent au chevet du patient et nourrissent les décisions politiques qui ont un impact sur la santé.

En parcourant ce rapport d’activités vous constaterez que cette année encore, nos équipes de recherche se sont distinguées sur la scène mondiale par leurs découvertes, depuis l’identification de nouveaux mécanismes qui sous-tendent la maladie d’Alzheimer ou le rejet d’organes greffés, jusqu’à la démonstration que la durée de conservation du sang n’altère pas sa qualité, en passant par de nouveaux traitements pour la sclérose en plaques ou le cancer de la prostate, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes.

La quête de nouvelles connaissances, l’innovation et l’audace de chercher plus loin animent au quotidien toutes celles et tous ceux qui œuvrent au CRCHUM, qu’ils soient chercheurs, étudiants, membres du personnel de recherche ou de soutien. Pour nos patients et avec eux, nous poursuivons cette mission avec énergie et détermination.

Vincent Poitout
Directeur du CRCHUM

Le rapport d’activités du Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM) met en lumière les réalisations importantes et les percées scientifiques de ses équipes de recherche, source constante de créativité. Tous poursuivent sans relâche un même but, celui de développer des solutions innovantes pour améliorer la santé de la population québécoise.

Ce lieu exceptionnel, où le fruit des recherches a une incidence positive sur le patient, privilégie une approche globale intégrant tout le continuum de la recherche, de la recherche fondamentale au laboratoire, à la recherche en santé des populations en passant par la recherche clinique.

Ce continuum de recherche et la fertilisation croisée entre les différents secteurs qui en découle permettent de transformer les connaissances scientifiques en bénéfices tangibles pour le patient et la population.

Encore une fois, au cours de l’année 2015-2016, notre centre de recherche s’est démarqué par des percées scientifiques spectaculaires et innovatrices, qui améliorent les pratiques médicales et contribuent au développement de nouveaux traitements. Ces découvertes ouvrent la voie à de nouvelles avenues thérapeutiques pour traiter le diabète de type 2, le cancer de la prostate, et bien d’autres maladies.

Au Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal, le patient bénéficie non seulement de ces retombées positives, il y contribue! En effet, sa participation à un programme de recherche ou à une étude clinique est indispensable afin, ultimement, d’améliorer les traitements qui lui seront prodigués. L’utilisation du Truvada pour prévenir l’infection au VIH chez les personnes à risque en est un bel exemple.

En passant en revue toutes les réalisations du CRCHUM, vous constaterez combien celui-ci est un acteur majeur de l’amélioration des soins aux patients, dont les découvertes rayonnent partout dans le monde. Au nom de la population que nous servons, je voudrais remercier toutes les équipes du centre de recherche du CHUM qui contribuent à améliorer la santé présente et future des Québécois.

Fabrice Brunet
Président-directeur général